Here’s a Riddle For You

Here’s the video for Five for Fighting’s “The Riddle.” I really like this song. In fact, I played it on guitar during my acoustic gig at The Underground (a local coffeeshop) earlier this semester. I’m not sure exactly what to think of the music video though. Let me know if you figure out the point…

I like the song for both its melody and its lyrics. The lyrics bring out sentimentality, doubt and hope, painting a picture of the world where value is found in the here and now, and meaning is found in relationships. Some excerpts:

Picked up my kid from school today,
Did you learn anything? cause in the world today
you can’t live in a castle far away.
Now talk to me, come talk to me
He said, “Dad I’m big but we’re smaller than small
In the scheme of things, well we’re nothing at all…

And hey Dad, here’s a riddle for you, find the answer
There’s a reason for the world: You and I…

There are secrets that we still have left to find
There have been mysteries from the beginning of time
There are answers we’re not wise enough to see…

I guess we’re big and I guess we’re small
If you think about it man you know we got it all
Cause we’re all we got on this bouncing ball
And I love you freely

Leave a Reply

